Depth seems to be converting from feet to meters

Locked
tscheven
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 00:08

Depth seems to be converting from feet to meters

Post by tscheven »

Hi Sven,

Happy New Year!

When I download the data from my dive computer to DL5 RC1, despite the fact that Units preference is set to Imperial, it seems to be converting the Max Depth from feet and displaying it as meters.

Can you tell me where this is controlled and if I can change it?

Thanks,

Todd.

James Connell
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 05:33
Location: Alaska, USA
Contact:

Re: Depth seems to be converting from feet to meters

Post by James Connell »

Todd,

This a Suunto?
If so could you send me the debug log and the download .xml file?
I want make sure things are normal.
JConn Inv.
Software Tools for Suunto Dive Computers
http://LiquidImagePhoto.com

tscheven
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 00:08

Re: Depth seems to be converting from feet to meters

Post by tscheven »

Yes; a Gekko.

Here's the Suunto XML file. How do I generate the debug output?

Thanks.
Attachments
SuuntoXML.xml
(49.45 KiB) Downloaded 355 times

divinglog
Site Admin
Posts: 5162
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 21:02
Location: Coburg
Contact:

Re: Depth seems to be converting from feet to meters

Post by divinglog »

Hi Todd, hi James

This is a bug in my XML parser and happens only when Diving Log runs in imperial units. I'll release a bug fix later this week, in the meantime you can temporary switch Diving Log to metric units, then download and then switch back to imperial units.

Kind regards,
Sven

tscheven
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 00:08

Re: Depth seems to be converting from feet to meters

Post by tscheven »

Hi Sven,

I'll just enter the correct depth in FT in the field itself. No biggie.

Thanks,

Todd.

terrylowe
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 03:33
Location: Hattiesburg, MS USA
Contact:

Re: Depth seems to be converting from feet to meters

Post by terrylowe »

I agree with Todd.
This is more of an annoyance but not a biggie. I know you will fix it, but it does not need top priority.

Terry

divinglog
Site Admin
Posts: 5162
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 21:02
Location: Coburg
Contact:

Re: Depth seems to be converting from feet to meters

Post by divinglog »

Hi Todd, hi Terry

The update is now online with the bugfix, thank you for your patience and help to fix this bug!

Sven

tscheven
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 00:08

Re: Depth seems to be converting from feet to meters

Post by tscheven »

Thanks Sven.

I'll test it now and let you know if I still have an issue.

terrylowe
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 03:33
Location: Hattiesburg, MS USA
Contact:

Re: Depth seems to be converting from feet to meters

Post by terrylowe »

Sven,
This update (1/5/10) fixed the problem. I re-downloaded my dive data and now my dive log matches what is on my D9.
I have done some beta testing before; I have never worked with anyone as diligent as you are with fixing bugs. Thanks a lot!
I'll keep looking for any other problems or challenges. If you need me to directly test anything with my Suunto setup, let me know.

Terry

tscheven
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 00:08

Re: Depth seems to be converting from feet to meters

Post by tscheven »

terrylowe wrote:Sven,
I have done some beta testing before; I have never worked with anyone as diligent as you are with fixing bugs. Thanks a lot!
Hear, hear.

Top notch.

divinglog
Site Admin
Posts: 5162
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 21:02
Location: Coburg
Contact:

Re: Depth seems to be converting from feet to meters

Post by divinglog »

Thank you very much! :)

Locked