Entering Lat / Long

Locked
TomMelvin
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 22:55
Location: Scotland

Entering Lat / Long

Post by TomMelvin » Wed Dec 16, 2009 23:01

I noticed with RC1 of version 5 the 'pull down' (hh mm sss.ss) associated with entering lat/log is no longer there.

Do you have any comments on the best way to enter the different formats of lat/log.

divinglog
Site Admin
Posts: 5090
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 21:02
Location: Coburg
Contact:

Re: Entering Lat / Long

Post by divinglog » Wed Dec 16, 2009 23:21

Hi Tom

I will add the dropdown functionality in a simillar way also to version 5.0 before the final release. In the meantime you can, for example, copy/paste the coordinates out of Google Earth, it is exactly the same format as it is displayed in the Placemark tool window.

Best regards,
Sven

TomMelvin
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 22:55
Location: Scotland

Re: Entering Lat / Long

Post by TomMelvin » Wed Dec 16, 2009 23:27

Thanks for the quick reply Sven

Happy to wait - I do find entering the lat/long on DL 4 to be a little hard work - it's ok if I have it in hh mm ss but many places use hh mm.mmmm
so I have to use a web site to convert - how about an option in 'Calculate' to handle the different datum formats.

Thanks

Tom

divinglog
Site Admin
Posts: 5090
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 21:02
Location: Coburg
Contact:

Re: Entering Lat / Long

Post by divinglog » Thu Dec 17, 2009 18:09

Hi Tom

Yes, that's the reason why it is not yet included, I want to add more input formats, which takes a little bit longer.

Sven

Locked