Possible issue with Tank Pressure (Calculated) profile

Discussions about Diving Log 6.0 - questions and hints
Post Reply
sdridentity
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 12:24

Possible issue with Tank Pressure (Calculated) profile

Post by sdridentity » Tue Feb 13, 2018 19:12

Hi,

First, thanks for the 6.0.12 update with the new report fields, works very well!

I notice that the Tank pressure (Calculated) profile now has a pressure range which looks odd (Y-axis labels):
It does start at the Start Pressure, but it does not end at the End Pressure. Both in Logbook view and in reports.

For example (all input data from Vyper Air):
* Start Pressure: 3110 psi
* End Pressure: 1115 psi (1995 psi consumed)
* SAC: 0.65 ft3/min.
* Dive Time: 41 min.
* Avg Depth: 32.58 ft
* Tank: 80 cu. ft. @ 3000 psi

The Tank pressure 1 Profile correctly shows a graph range from 1115 to 3110.
The Tank pressure (Calculated) profile shows a graph range from 3040 to 3110.

It seems consistently off for all the dives I have checked.

I am pretty sure this was working fine before the 6.0.12 update.

Thanks!

Best regards,
Simon.

divinglog
Site Admin
Posts: 4868
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 21:02
Location: Coburg
Contact:

Re: Possible issue with Tank Pressure (Calculated) profile

Post by divinglog » Wed Feb 14, 2018 00:12

Hi Simon

Thank you for reporting this bug! I'm really surprised, because I have not changed anything in the tank pressure calculated profile code. So I went back to 6.0.11 and the bug was already there, but it is only visible in imperial units. When using metric units (which I do) it works as expected.

I'm really surprised that no one reported this bug and I should have seen this in my own tests. I will provide a fix in this thread very quickly.

Thank you,
Sven

divinglog
Site Admin
Posts: 4868
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 21:02
Location: Coburg
Contact:

Re: Possible issue with Tank Pressure (Calculated) profile

Post by divinglog » Wed Feb 14, 2018 00:44

Hi Simon

I've fixed the bug, you can download this zip file and copy the content into the Diving Log 6.0 program folder (overwrite the existing files). Then the profile should be correct in imperial units.

Thank you,
Sven

sdridentity
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 12:24

Re: Possible issue with Tank Pressure (Calculated) profile

Post by sdridentity » Wed Feb 14, 2018 14:26

Hi Sven,

Great, that was a quick fix! Works fine now.

You are of course right that the bug was already there: I reviewed previously printed logbook pages and the issue is visible with calculated profiles in previous versions as well. Strange I also had not noticed this.

Thanks,
Simon.

Post Reply